The Georgia O’Keeffe Museum’s Michael S. Engl Family Foundation Library & Archive includes records and documentation related to the Georgia O’Keeffe Museum’s history and programs. These programs include the O’Keeffe Book Prize, Fellowships, Symposia, and the Museum’s Women of Distinction Award.

Book Prize

From 2009 to 2018, the O’Keeffe Book Prize acknowledged an author whose book deepened our understanding of American Modernism. The prize recognized a book that addressed 20th century American Modernism and its relationship with artists, visual culture, art, architecture, design, photography, or history. Publications were reviewed based on excellence, originality, quality of writing and scholarship, contribution to knowledge, and significance in the field. The prize was awarded every three years.


From 2001 to 2020, the Georgia O’Keeffe Museum sponsored many fellowships in the following areas:

  • Academic fellowships supporting research relating to the study of American Modernism
  • Curatorial and Museum Studies fellowships supporting research and practice in the museum field
  • Artist in Residence fellowships offered to artists in preparation for a body of work that relates to the Museum’s mission
  • Cultural Landscape fellowships supporting the study and preservation of O’Keeffe’s historic properties in New Mexico.

The Museum is not currently offering fellowship opportunities, for more information on past fellowships contact 505-946-1040 or


From 2001 to 2013, the Georgia O’Keeffe Museum hosted symposia related to American Modernism and museum issues and practices.

1997: Georgia O’Keeffe Symposium: The Work and the Life, July 21 – July 22, 1997.


2003: Museums of Tomorrow: An Internet Conference, October 6 – October 19, 2003

2006: Painting and Photography in American Art: Sources, Ideas, and Influences, 1890s to the Present, July 6 – July 8, 2006.

2011: Challenging 1945 – Exploring Continuities in American Art, 1890s to the Present, July 14 – July 16, 2011.

2013: Modernist Encounters and Contemporary Inquiry: Art, Appropriation, and Cultural Rights, September 6 – September 7, 2013

Women of Distinction

From 2007 to 2010, the Georgia O’Keeffe Museum’s Women of Distinction Series honored O’Keeffe’s artistic legacy of achievement by recognizing contemporary women who have made outstanding contributions to our society and culture. Proceeds from the series help support the Museum’s Art and Leadership Program, an interdisciplinary program that incorporates skill-building and problem-solving with identity, creativity, and self-esteem, with an emphasis on art-making and artist role models.

  • 2010 — Annie Leibovitz, photographer
  • 2009 — Gloria Steinem, activist, author, editor
  • 2007 — Ruth Bader Ginsburg, Supreme Court justice
  • 2007 — Gail Sheehy, journalist

For more information and records relating to the history of the Georgia O’Keeffe Museum, past programs, and fellowships, please visit the archives at the Museum’s Michael S. Engl Family Foundation Library & Archive or contact the Library directly at 505-946-1040 or